A Druid’s Tale is an excellent collection of essays. That said there is still a coherence which runs through it.  Each chapter stands alone well as a thought provoking read, and yet the book still has the sense of being a whole, which many collected essays fail to achieve.

Cat Treadwell does a fine job of illustrating the values and principles held by many druids, whilst being clear that though her view is an honest reflection on druidry, that it is a very personal path, that the variations are actually typical of those following the druidic path.

Having followed training, read many books, and practiced druidry in my own life I wasn’t necessarily expecting to be taught new lessons by this book, which is as well because it doesn’t attempt to do that. It is neither a how to or a strict definition of druidry. It is more a compelling illustration with ideas and questions which challenge you to continue to grow for yourself.

I have in the past suggested people read Bobcat’s book on druidry to get a more detailed idea of what it means to some of us, I think any suggestions now will also include this one as between them they will give a far more comprehensive impression of what druidry is to many of us.

All in all it was an enjoyable read; one which I have every intention of revisiting every now and again as I found myself enjoying reading it sufficiently that I might have raced through it rather faster than would help me get the most from it. I’m looking forward to re-reading it and letting it inspire me to action and thought again sometime soon.

(link to the book on amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/A-Druids-Tale-Cat-Treadwell/dp/1780991134/ref=cm_cr-mr-title )

